Copy To vs Move To vs Transfer To a Portfolio

When you right-click (on a Mac: Command + click) on a on a holding in the Prices view of a portfolio, the popup menu that is shown will look something like the image below. The bottom 3 options are "Copy to...", "Move to..." and "Transfer to...".

Copy to...

When you choose the "Copy to..." option, you'll be presented with a window to select the portfolio into which you want to copy the item. The item (or items, if the selected item is a multi-item with sub lots) will be added to the selected portfolio. The purchase transaction for this item will also be added to the new portfolio. 

In the "Copy to..." window, if you check the option, "Adjust the cash balance...", StockMarketEye will subtract the cost basis of the copied item from the Cash balance of the receiving portfolio, just as if you had purchased this item in that portfolio.

No changes will be performed in the original portfolio - the item and transaction will still be in the original portfolio.

Move to...

When you choose the "Move to..." option, you'll be presented with a window to select the portfolio into which you want to move the item. The item (or items, if the selected item is a multi-item with sub lots) will be added to the selected portfolio. The purchase transaction for this item will also be added to the new portfolio.

In the "Move to..." window, if you check the option, "Adjust the cash balance...", StockMarketEye will subtract the cost basis of the moved item from the Cash balance of the receiving portfolio, just as if you had purchased this item in that portfolio. The cost basis of the moved item will then be added to the Cash balance of the original portfolio, just as if you had never purchased this item in that portfolio.

The item and transaction will be removed from the original portfolio.

Transfer to...

When you choose the "Transfer to..." option, you'll be presented with a window to select the portfolio into which you want to transfer the item. The item (or items, if the selected item is a multi-item with sub lots) will be added to the selected portfolio.

For every item that is transferred, StockMarketEye will add a "Shares Out" transaction in the original portfolio and a "Shares In" transaction in the receiving portfolio. The "Transfer Date" field in the window allows you to select the date that will be recorded for the transfer in the "Shares Out" and "Shares In" transactions.

In the "Transfer to..." window, if you check the option, "Update the transferred holding's cost basis...", StockMarketEye will set the cost basis of the transferred holding (in the receiving portfolio) to be based on the closing price on the transfer date.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us